

Senator Don Farrell

M E D I A R E L E A S E

Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water

DF12/061 6 December 2012

PRODUCT STEWARDSHIP ADVISORY GROUP ANNOUNCED

Senator Don Farrell, Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water, today announced the establishment of a Product Stewardship Advisory Group to support the Gillard Government's work on reducing the environmental, health and safety impacts of manufactured goods.

Senator Farrell said the group will provide independent advice to the government on products that could be considered for attention under the Gillard Government's landmark Product Stewardship Act.

"The Gillard Government is committed to reducing the impacts of products and the substances within them on the environment and on the health and safety of human beings," he said.

"We introduced product stewardship legislation because Australians want product manufacturers, importers, distributors and others to take greater responsibility for the impacts of the goods they bring into the market.

"The first products covered under the Product Stewardship Act were televisions and computers and we've already had great early success with an industry run and funded recycling scheme for those products. There are now more than 40 services up and running around Australia under the National Television and Computer Recycling Scheme, which is on track to recycle 41,000 tonnes of televisions and computer products this financial year – almost double the entire volume of these products recycled last year."

The new advisory group will provide advice on possible inclusions on the government's new annual list of products proposed to be considered for potential product stewardship action under the Act. The first list is scheduled to be published by 30 June 2013.

"Making sure we have the most appropriate products put forward for potential attention under product stewardship legislation is essential to the success of this initiative," Senator Farrell said.

"The advisory group, chaired by Ms Kathleen Mackie, will provide the government with relevant, timely and independent information on appropriate products for voluntary accreditation or government regulation under the Product Stewardship Act.

"Receiving high quality, independent advice from this advisory group will ensure our activities are targeted to the areas of greatest benefit."

The advisory group members offer experience from a wide range of fields, including packaging, recycling, sustainability, business and environmental protection.

The Chair and nine other members have been appointed for three-year terms.

Further information is available at $\underline{www.environment.gov.au/settlements/waste/product-stewardship/index.html}$

Product Stewardship Advisory Group

Chair

Ms Kathleen Mackie – a former senior executive in the public sector with extensive experience in environment policy reform and implementation.

Members

Mr Jeff Angel – Executive Director of the Total Environment Centre and National Convenor of the Boomerang Alliance

Ms Rebecca Brown – Waste and Recycling Manager, Western Australian Local Government Association

Dr Peter Burn – Director of Public Policy, Australian Industry Group

Mr Philip Casey – Research Program Leader, CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering

Mr John Gertsakis - Chief Sustainability Officer with Infoactiv Group

Ms Karen Gomez - Chief Executive Officer, AgStewardship Australia

Mr Russ Martin - President, Global Product Stewardship Council

Ms Rose Read - Manager, Mobile Phone Recycling, Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association

Ms Val Southam - Chief Executive Officer, Waste Management Association of Australia